Memes

Sunday Post: January 3rd, 2016

NEW Sunday Post

Happy New Year, everyone! I hope everyone had a lovely start to the new year! My boyfriend and I stayed in and watched the whole first season of Agent Carter together, baked some banana nut bread and made hot chocolate. It was delightful! We also went out shopping a bit and I picked up a few more books with my Christmas gift cards so you’ll be seeing some of those on the blog soon.

Just Finished

SP01-03-16

Andy Stanley’s “The New Rules for Love, Sex & Dating” was a good read. Not overly preachy by any means and good for anyone that is thinking about getting back out into the dating scene again, regardless of age. I’m going to try to get us a copy to add to the teen section in our library, I think.

I also just finished “Our Souls at Night” by Kent Haruf and it was a light, quick read at under 200 pages (read it in two sittings) and I found it really touching and simplistic. It’s one of those stories that feels like you’re pulling back the curtain on someone else’s life, taking a quick peek and then walking away.

Additionally, I was given a digital copy of “Rarity from the Hollow” by Robert Eggelton to review but… I just cannot finish this. I have added it to the DNF list. The scenes are very graphic and I found there was so much happening that I couldn’t even begin to make sense of anything. I did give it a good try and made it 100 pages in before tapping out. Sorry, Mr. Eggelton. The author is said to donate all proceeds to child abuse causes so there’s always that if you’d like to buy it anyway.

I’m debating if I want to participate in Bout of Books or the Ham Along Readalong. Hmmmm.

Feel free to drop by the Caffeinated Book Reviewer and say hello to Kimba!

4 thoughts on “Sunday Post: January 3rd, 2016

Comment

