Memes

It’s Monday, June 1st — What are you reading?

I thought that upon the revival of my Macbook, Jarvis, I would return to the book blogging world in full swing overjoyed with the sheer ability to put my fingertips to keys again but… it hasn’t been the case. In fact, despite having read some decent things I’ve still found myself unable (or unwilling) to blog about them. So, I’ve found myself doing a little soul searching–or well, at least book searching. I think that it is possible I’ve fallen into the trap of I should read this because I’m a blogger and this is a buzzworthy book right now. I’ve found myself with a growing Goodreads To-Read list as well as a physical TBR shelf of books that I’m only mildly excited about. This, my friends, is a problem. This is not what it’s all about.

So, I’m taking a little bit of time to do some self-discovery and figure out what kind of books I really want to read. I might still hop on here to talk about what I’m reading now and again but I think I may shy away from actually posting reviews mostly because reviews are my least favorite part of book blogging. Weird, right? With reviews there seems to be a lot of pressure (probably internal) to post mostly new releases when really there are tons of great backlist books I’d love to read and hey, reading should be fun. It’s a hobby–not a job. So, I’m going to keep this fun for myself. Maybe I this will turn into a general nerding out blog instead of just a book blog. Who knows. We shall see.

Right now, I’ve been reading a lot of comics and graphic novels! Also, I’ve been watching a lot of Fringe. Lots of Fringe. A Fringe Binge, if you will.

Here’s what I’ve been reading lately: The Locke & Key series by Joe Hill (I read volumes 1-6 in about 3 days. Seriously demented but in a very enjoyable way.) Bitch Planet, a super feminist comic that everyone should read by the amazing Kelly Sue DeConnick and A-Force, the new all lady Marvel Universe comic by G. Willow Wilson.

   

And I just started, The Stars, Like Dust by Isaac Asimov.

How about you? What are you reading this week? And do you ever find yourself feeling like you should read/review something even if you don’t really want to?

 

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday, June 1st — What are you reading?

  1. Good for me and I feel like I’ve been hearing the same type of thoughts from others around the blogger world. I’m with you on book reviews – plus they are my worst performing posts. So, I recently changed my review format to a notes-style structure with categories like Headline, What I liked/Didn’t Like, Major Themes, A Quote, etc. It’s much easier to write those and they’re also easier for readers to scan. I haven’t done enough of them to really see how they perform page views-wise, but I sure like writing them a lot more!

    Like

  2. Reading my backlist is a major priority for me. It’s something I have to keep focused on as a book blogger, because I can feel a bit out of the loop if I’m not reading all the latest stuff. I’ve been pretty successful in the past with taking all the buzz with a grain of salt, and reading what I want to read. It’s the ONLY way I stay happy and sane as a blogger.
    I have a huge stack of galleys from BEA, so my challenge this summer is to make sure I continue in my “Zen” mindset of only reading things I really want to read. I’m also going to make sure I continue reading from my giant backlist of wonderful books that are sitting around my apartment.

    Like

  3. I know the feeling all to well. I work hard and don’t make a lot so I can’t afford to buy all the new buzz-worthy books, and the library, while awesome, usually has wait lists lasting forever. So I found it hard to try and review the new books. And then I realized that that wasn’t me anyway. If I was going to do reviews, which I enjoy doing, I was going to review the books I wanted to read, new or not. I’ve found that there are people who are happy to read reviews of older books. So it’s worked out. Every blogged falls into a slump. I have many times. But if you love blogging and you love reading and reviewing, just review what you like and want. Not the books you feel you should review. Or blog about books and not do reviews. Maybe a lists of your favorites for different times? Like your top 10 breakup books. Or something? But yes, blogging should be fun. Not feel like a job.

    Like

  4. I know what you’re going through, I’ve been there myself. Always remember that your blog is your space to do whatever you want with it. I think it’s great that you’re taking time to figure things out, sometimes it’s best to take a step back in re-evaluate. In the meantime, I nominated you for The Blogger Recognition Award because no matter who you decide to do, I support you!
    https://thedesertbibliophile.wordpress.com/2015/06/29/the-blogger-recognition-award/

    Like

Comment

