Memes

The Sunday Post: My Week in Review – Feb. 22nd-28th

NEW Sunday PostVisit Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer

 

Happy Sunday, everyone! Hello to all of you lovely new faces by way of Shannon at River City Reading! Thanks to her kind post I’ve met lots of wonderful new people! Thank you for wandering over to my little corner of the blogging world!

What a month, eh? Is it just me or did it fly by? I know it’s the shortest month but it still feels like the year is moving at lightening speed. March already?! Yikes. My birthday will be here before I know it.

Anyway, let’s recap!

PEACH_ PFLW

As you may notice, I have a severe problem with planning what to read next vs. actually reading. Hence the small amount of posts. In order to review a book one must actually finish it. >__< I’m working on it…

 

Wrapped up Florence Gordon by Brian Morton this week and plan to have a review up on the blog early next week!

Have you read it? What did you think? Without giving too much away prior to the review I will just say that it wasn’t what I had been hoping for.

PEACH_ InProgress

I’m about mid-way through Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng and I’m really enjoying it so far. I’ve heard nothing but good things about it and so far I’m very intrigued.

Also, re-starting The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer, this time on audio! Previously gave this a try and lost interest quickly. It just fizzled for me with so much going on and I’m hoping the audio version will prove more successful for me. I hear good things about the narration!

 

PEACH_ ITBR

I received a few galleys this week that I’m excited to get to soon!

The Unraveling of Mercy Louis by Keija Parssinen is described as “…evocative and unsettling, The Unraveling of Mercy Louis charts the downfall of one town’s golden girl while exploring the brutality and anxieties of girlhood in America.” Ooh, yes!

Meanwhile, Adult Onset by Ann-Marie MacDonald looks like an interesting read. The Goodreads page states,”With humor and unerring emotional accuracy, Adult Onset explores the pleasures and pressures of family bonds, powerful and yet so easily twisted and broken. Ann-Marie MacDonald has crafted a searing, terrifying, yet ultimately uplifting story.

How was your week

12 thoughts on “The Sunday Post: My Week in Review – Feb. 22nd-28th

  1. I found you through Shannon’s post! You’ve got some great books going and coming up! I liked (but didn’t love) Florence Gordon…thought the writing was amazing, but story was a little lacking. But, the writing carried it for me. LOVED The Interestings…despite not really liking the very beginning when they’re at camp. Once things moved to their adulthood, it got much better for me.

    And – I have Mercy Louis coming up as well! Looking forward to it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! So glad to have you!

      I did enjoy the writing of Florence Gordon but in the end I was wondering why that was all that happened. I felt it could have been so much more.

      I’m determined to stick with The Interestings this time. Last time I didn’t make it out of their camp phase! (Meg Wolitzer has a thing about kids at camp doesn’t she? The Interestings, Belzhar…) Can’t wait to start Mercy Louis!

      Like

  2. Very interested to hear what you think of The Interestings on Audiobook! It’s on my TBR list but not very high, listening to it on audiobook might bump it up a bit! :)

    Like

    1. I know this may sound sacrilegious to you as a Wolitzer fan but I think maybe I just don’t care for her that much! :-0 I lost interest in The Interestings (no pun intended) and Belzhar was just kind of meh for me. But, I still have The Wife to read so maybe it will change my mind. :)

      Like

    1. Yes! Books that I *really* want to read I always read physically but with audiobooks it’s things that are on my TBR or want to read list but I just haven’t gotten around to it in a while or I wasn’t immediately grabbed by the book when I tried to read it. The Invention of Wings was this way for me! I wouldn’t even pick up the book to attempt (something about that hideous orange cover, I think) but when I listened to the audiobook it became one of my favorites of the year. :)

      Like

  3. It did flyby, can’t believe it’s March already. Looking forward to seeing what you think of your reads- I’ve had a hard time picking out what to ead next as well. Have a nice week.

    Liked by 1 person

Comment

