Memes

It’s Monday, What are You Reading?

MondayWAYR

 

READING

So far I’m really enjoying Redeployment, a collection of short stories, by Phil Klay. Well, perhaps enjoy is the wrong word. It is not a pleasant thing to read. It’s gritty, gruesome in parts and tugs at the heartstrings. But, I feel it a necessary read.

Klay brings you right to the front lines of war and doesn’t fall short of telling it exactly like it is. Gore and all. I’ve only just started this collection and I already have strong feelings about what we ask our military to do for us.


LISTENING

I just started The Martian by Andy Weir. I’m only about three tracks in and already I’ve laughed out loud several times. It isn’t even a comedy-driven novel, no. It’s about Mark Whatney, one of the first men to walk on the face of Mars, who is stranded–left behind by his team that incorrectly assumed he was dead. So far, Weir’s characterization of Mark (who is basically in WTF-mode right now) is awesome. Some of the lines this character has delivered already remind me so much of my brother that I texted him to tell him to pick up this book. Turns out he’s already a hundred pages in. Safe to say we think alike.

Comment

