Memes

Sunday Post #21: End of November Wrap-Up

NEW Sunday PostVisit Kimba @ The Caffeinated Book Reviewer

Hey all! Can you believe it? Tomorrow is December. I don’t know where the year has gone. I am ready for the holidays, though! Although, the warm weather has returned to my area of the globe and it’s difficult to see holiday decorations when it’s a sunny, sixty degrees outside. I’m hoping it cools off again soon otherwise my holiday spirits may diminish.

Monthly Wrapup

So, this month was Nonfiction November and I think I did okay. I did read a few nonfiction books, however, a lot of them were not for pleasure but for research instead. Boo! Unfortunately, NaNoWriMo sucked up a good portion of free time and reading for fun got paused.

For research I read The Making of a Story: A Norton Guide to Creative Writing by Alice LaPlante, which I must say is very helpful to the creative writing process. I also skimmed through Plot Versus Character: A Balanced Approach to Writing Great Fiction by Jeff Gerke and The Art of Character: Creating Memorable Characters for Fiction, Film and TV by David Corbett. Both were somewhat helpful but then I ended up scrapping my idea for NaNoWriMo anyway! So it goes…

For fun, I read Drift: The Unmooring of American Military Power by Rachel Maddow (loooove her), Dr. Mütter’s Marvels: A True Tale of Intrigue, and Innovation at the Dawn of Modern Medicine by Cristin O’Keefe Aptowicz and Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple for my bookclub! (I’m seriously so proud of myself, guys. I finally finished a bookclub book on time.) I will have reviews up for these soon! Spoiler alert: I loved Dr. Mütter’s Marvels! Be sure to check out my Nonfiction November posts if you missed them!

 

Posts from Last Week

 

What I'm Reading

Finishing up Stone Mattress: Nine Tales by Margaret Atwood and starting The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt tomorrow!

Coming Up

  • REVIEWDr. Mütter’s Marvels by Cristin O’Keefe Aptowicz
  • REVIEWWhere’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple
  • MINI REVIEWS: Drift: The Unmooring of American Military Power by Rachel Maddow and The Most Dangerous Animal of All:  by Gary L. Stewart
  • Christmas gift ideas for book lovers!

Hope you’re having a great weekend!

3 thoughts on “Sunday Post #21: End of November Wrap-Up

  1. Hard to believe it’s December, and the holiday decorations and trees are springing up all over our neighborhood. Sixty sounds kinda good though as we’re more in the 30’s. :)

    Where’d You Go, Bernadette sounds like a lot of fun.

    Like

Comment

