Challenges

Nonfiction November: My Year in Nonfiction [Week One]

nonficnovember

Week 1: (Nov. 3 to 7) Hosted by KimYour Year in Nonfiction: Take a look back at your year of nonfiction and reflect on the following questions – What was your favorite nonfiction read of the year? What nonfiction book have you recommended the most? What is one topic or type of nonfiction you haven’t read enough of yet? What are you hoping to get out of participating in Nonfiction November?

My Year in Nonfiction

I was all over the map this year with what I decided to read both in fiction and nonfiction. But really, “nonfiction” is so generic a term that of course it applies to a broad range of subjects. While I read everything from cookbooks to cover letters, here are some of my favorite nonfiction reads of the year.

Favorite Nonfiction of the Year (So Far)

the family romanov, candace fleming

The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion and the Fall of Imperial Russia  by Candace Fleming was an excellent historical read. It was well researched, well written and gripping. As someone that had not been aware of the complete scenario regarding the Romanov family, this was mostly new information to me. Despite knowing the outcome it was a page turner all the way to the end.

You can find my review of it here.

Additionally, some runners up worth a mention are:

Nonfiction Titles I’m Planning to Attempt

While I don’t have any unrealistic hope of completing these all during the month of November (not with school, NaNo, and holidays) these are still on my TBR list and I hope to get to them soon! I’ve got the first two checked out of the library and I just purchased Dr. Mutter’s Marvels for a great price and it should be here soon. :D

TBRNov

  • Men Explain Things to Me by Rebecca Solnit — This book features that now-classic essay with six perfect complements, including an examination of the great feminist writer Virginia Woolf ’s embrace of mystery, of not knowing, of doubt and ambiguity, a highly original inquiry into marriage equality, and a terrifying survey of the scope of contemporary violence against women.
  • Bad Feminist Essays by Roxane Gay In these funny and insightful essays, Roxane Gay takes us through the journey of her evolution as a woman (Sweet Valley High) of color (The Help) while also taking readers on a ride through culture of the last few years (Girls, Django in Chains) and commenting on the state of feminism today (abortion, Chris Brown). The portrait that emerges is not only one of an incredibly insightful woman continually growing to understand herself and our society, but also one of our culture.
  • Dr. Mutter’s Marvels by Cristin O’Keefe Aptowicz — Although he died at just forty-eight, Mütter was an audacious medical innovator who pioneered the use of ether as anesthesia, the sterilization of surgical tools, and a compassion-based vision for helping the severely deformed, which clashed spectacularly with the sentiments of his time.

One type of nonfiction I would like to read more of would be things about history and religion but also perhaps some biographies. I’ve said it before–I’m a mood reader in the worst way and what I want to read today may not be the same next week! By participating in Nonfiction November, I’m hoping to lighten my reading load for the month of November simply because I’m participating in NaNoWriMo and I want to be able to focus a healthy amount of time on that (in addition to my studies).

What are some great nonfiction titles you’ve read this year? Have you read anything I’ve mentioned above?

3 thoughts on “Nonfiction November: My Year in Nonfiction [Week One]

  1. The Family Romanov and Redefining Girly sound excellent. I’ve been wanting to learn more about the Romanov’s (my entire knowledge basically stems from the animated movie Anastasia — so, not much). And I love a good book about breaking down gender stereotypes.

    Bad Feminist is fantastic! I hope you enjoy it! Men Explain Things to Me Sounds great as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Comment

