Various & Sundry

Autumn Reading Picks

tumblr_mb5wkbCGfH1rebqyoo1_500

I don’t know about you guys but I amĀ thrilled autumn has finally arrived in my neck of the woods. Granted, it’s still a little warm here (low 70’s) to be considered “autumn” but I’ll happily take it. It usually doesn’t get that crisp feeling int he air until Halloween where I am so I will happily take it! Of course, this means that I cannot wait to literally curl up on the couch with a good book, a fuzzy blanket, and some apple cider.

I am a big mood reader. Big. Atmosphere plays a huge part in my reading whether I want it to or not and there are some books that I have been saving specifically for cooler weather…

Autumn Reads

autumn reads

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – I’ve had this book since it was released but I haven’t even picked it up yet. It just hasn’t felt like the right time. I’m almost certain that I’ve been waiting for autumn in order to read it.

The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett – Lately, I’ve had the itch to get into a series of books and this was recommended to me by a few people (along with the Game of Throne series, which I will get to some day) and something about it just strikes me as a good, chunky, autumn read.

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt – Ahh, the lovely Donna. I have been saving this book to read once the weather cooled and I could put on a sweater. Everyone else has been going gaga over it for far longer but I just knew that I needed to save it for autumn.

Are you a mood reader? Do you have certain books you’re looking forward to this autumn?

Comment

