Memes

Sunday Post: The One Where I Make Some Changes

SundayPost_BS

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba at The Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

RECAP

 Hello everyone.

I haven’t been posting too much lately. I suppose I’ve been in a blogging slump. It has felt more like work than fun and so I’ve put it on hold in order to assess what I can do about it. After reading the post by Shannon over at River City Reading and this one over at A Reader’s Respite about slowing down and reading with purpose, I feel that is what I need to do. So far, writing book reviews has been the least fun of anything I post! The pressure to post a bevy of reviews is definitely there. More reviews = more clicks and visits. But, those things don’t really interest me. Sure, it’s nice to see how many people visited but that shouldn’t be what drives my posting schedule.

That being said, from here on out, I am striving to read more leisurely and really take the time to understand the text verses spitting out a review immediately after closing the book. I am going to ask myself questions and maybe post to ask you all questions about what you think it means, etc.  I’ve read 45 books so far this year and while that is more than I have ever read in a year (thank you Goodreads Challenge), I also don’t feel like I have truly connected with many of the books I’ve read. I want to thank these two authors of the posts mentioned above for inspiring me to take this direction and I hope you as a reader will appreciate the change of pace.

In Other News

As far as my personal life goes, I have returned to my previous job in addition to my current one so I am back to working two part-time jobs. So far, it’s going well. I didn’t realize just how much I missed my coworkers until I got back to them. They are a joy to be around I cherish them so much. 

In addition to this, I will be resuming my studies next month. My university has switched from semesters to quarters so I can take one class and still be considered a part time student for financial aid purposes. I am excited. For several months I have been slingshotting back and forth between ideas for changing my major and unable to settle on one. I have a bit of a fear of commitment in that respect but, after careful consideration, I will be returning to my original course of action (Psychology major, Sociology minor). I will attempt to freelance a bit in my spare time, still enjoy reading for pleasure when I can and turn all of my other potential career interests into hobbies instead. I have a good feeling about it. :)

Book Haul!

books, book haul, bookishly speaking, book blogger, I haven’t had a true book haul in forever! I’ve been saving my money for other more important things (oh, responsibility, how I loathe you) so I haven’t purchased any books in quite some time. These books, however, didn’t come out of my pocket so to speak. I traded in my X-Box 360, some games and a few DVDs at 2nd & Charles and received a $120 credit! Added to my previous credit that gave me $130 to spend as I choose! In addition to the great credit, I found tons of books I would love to read and keep on the shelves so here they are. All in all, it was about $35. Lots of credit left over!

How has your week been? Have you suffered from lack of interest in posting book reviews? Tell me your thoughts!

6 thoughts on “Sunday Post: The One Where I Make Some Changes

  1. I have been going through the same thing on my blog, and have been talking about it all week! Hope you find peace with whatever decision you make. I decided to review less but to still bookchat and start discussions about bookish things since I really love talking to other bloggers. My reading has slowed down in the past few years, and I want to be able to read more, and to pick up a book “just because” not because I have to or because a million other bloggers have hyped it.

    I enjoy your blog and look forward to whatever/whenever you post. By the way, my major in college was Sociology and my minor Psychology, similar to yours, so I hope you love this choice. I never got to finish my studies (I went back to college a few years ago as an older studen,t but unfortunately became disabled so gave it up) but I loved the discussions in those classes more than almost anything else I’ve done in life. You won’t regret your decision :)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It definitely seems like it’s a tough balance to find, but I think we kind of know when we need to slow down and take our time a bit more and it really started to hit me over the past month or so. I’ve been looking forward to November and December when I have fewer books lined up to read and I realized that was a choice I made/something I don’t have to continue doing if I don’t want to.

    Really looking forward to seeing how everything comes together for you. Whatever it is, I hope it makes you happy! It looks like you have a great start with your new books (I absolutely ADORED The Signature of All Things).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We don’t have a 2nd & Charles but there’s one in a nearby city that we visit pretty regularly. I’m going to have to work in a visit. I didn’t know they had books! I’m sorry you’re feeling so restless with everything but it sounds like you’re taking the steps to get yourself back on track. For blogging it does get easy to get caught up in statistics so good for you for refocusing! Have a great week!

    Like

Comment

