Memes

Sunday Post: August 17th-23rd

SundayPost_BS

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba at The Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

WEEKLY RECAP

Hi everyone, hope you’ve all had a wonderful week so far. Did you participate in Bout of Books 11? I had planned to, and I suppose I did to some extent, but nowhere near the level I had wanted to. I explain the why in this post over here.

Book-related things lately have been kind of crappy. I started reading The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer for our library book club. But, um, newsflash: not interesting. It was so flat and full of info dumps that I couldn’t take it and gave up. Very disappointing!

I did end up finishing three books this week so I’m pretty pleased about that. I hate that I didn’t participate in any of the Bout of Books activities, but, at least I read!  :)

POSTS

BOOKS FINISHED

After a fairly significant reading slump, these few books pulled me right out of it. Hooray! All of these were great reads and I would recommend them highly. I’ll be posting reviews pretty soon!

STARTING SOON

How has your week been?

xo

 

16 thoughts on “Sunday Post: August 17th-23rd

  1. Omg, I love Aristotle & Dante! It’s been one of my favourite reads of this year! I was absolutely floored by the beautiful writing. I’d love to read a David Leviathan book, too, but just haven’t gotten around to it yet. Happy reading! :))
    My Sunday Post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I have I Shall Be Near to You on my kindle, just got it this week! Glad to see someone else going to read it. And The Family Romanov, well I love that era of the last Czar and his family, so I will check this one out further. Have a great week (I read and left a comment on your bird post, so sad even for me to read as an animal lover).

    Like

    1. Aww, thank you. It was difficult for me to write without tearing up but I had to get it out somehow. :-/

      Maybe we will end up reading I Shall Be Near to You around the same time! :)

      Like

  3. The Family Romanov sounds interesting. I have a book about the sisters which I haven’t started yet but need too. I’m definitely fascinated by the family. So glad you snapped out of your slump! I’ve only read The Outsiders by Hinton so I’m curious to hear about Rumble Fish. I love the cover of Thorn Jack! I’ll have to look for that one as well. Have a great week!

    Like

    1. Me too! I really liked Finn as a character and Finn/Jack are just all of full of angst and UST. This was really my first fantasy genre in awhile and I did find myself enjoying it a lot!

      Like

  4. I just had too much going on this week to jump in with Bout of Books this time around :( I’ve really wanted to read two boys kissing – I hope you like it! Have a great week!

    Like

Comment

