Memes

Sunday Post: July 27th – August 2nd

SundayPost_BS

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimbra at The Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

Howdy!

How is everyone this week? I am happy to report that the past week at the library has been quiet and wonderful! Hallelujah! In other news, I don’t think I will be returning to school for fall semester. I’ve hit that point where all the classes I need are major and minor-related and I’m just… really not so sure about what direction I really want to go in. So, it looks like I will be dropping my classes I mentioned last week. Ugh. So wishy-washy, I know. It’s both a relief and a stressor all in one.

I am also happy to report that I recently to 2nd & Charles and traded in a bag full of books for store credit. Remarkably, I left empty handed. I know! Shock! I think I’m really beginning to embrace the idea of the library instead of purchasing so many things (which is necessary due to financial constraints). I’ve been wondering, what with last weeks Top 10 Tuesday and all, how others choose what to purchase for their shelves. So, do you purchase all the books you want to read? Just a few? Only things that you’ve read and are special to you? Tell me your methods! I’m curious. :)

Posts from this Week

Currently Reading

Just started this today (at work, shhhh!!) since it’s our teen book club book and the meeting is coming up soon. I’ve been wanting to read it and I didn’t have any idea it was so short. So, there ya go. Mood reading at it’s finest. ;)

Has anyone else read The Giver? I know it’s a series–is it going to be one I’ll feel obligated to read the whole series?

 

What Should I Read Next?

  • The Interestings – Meg Wolitzer
  • I Shall Be Near to You – Erin Lindsay McCabe
  • The Word Exchange – Alena Graedon
  • The Paris Wife – Paula McLain
  • Empire Girls – Suzanne Hayes

Photo from the Week

This week, in celebration of Harry Potter’s birthday, I prepared Hogwarts letters for some of my fellow Potter nuts! I think they were a hit. :)

Hope everyone has a great week!

10 thoughts on “Sunday Post: July 27th – August 2nd

  1. Aww, your Hogwarts letters are so cool!! Hmmm, what to read next… I vote Meg’s book. I have her Balazar (or whatever it’s called, I can’t remember!!!) on my TBR for this month so that’s why I’m voting or her :D

    And eh, don’t worry about school… it’ll come to you! You could stick w/ your major and always go for your MLIS or teach afterwards :)

    Have a great week!!! btw… your blog is soooo adorable!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey! Yes, I am planning on going for an MLIS after I graduate regardless of what degree path I choose. I just want to choose something that won’t absolutely suck (or be worthless) if I have to put off grad school for awhile (worried about financial constraints). Still deciding! Today, I’m thinking I’ll major in the Classics. lol

      Like

  2. I have The Empire Girls and am looking forward to reading it! I’ve heard great things about the Paris Wife as well. I’m not a big purchaser of books. I do paperbackswap.com a lot for paperbacks so I have a lot of flow with those kinds of things and the library for other books. If it’s a book I know I’ll want to reread or or an author whose work I’m trying to collect I’ll buy it. Otherwise I only buy if I can’t find it anywhere else. I’m a big fan of the library as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I seem to be going through a Jazz Age spell at the moment– just finished Mrs. Hemingway and I also want to read Empire Girls, The Paris Wife and Z. Oh, and I just checked out a biography of the Fitzgerald’s called Careless People!

      Like

  3. Hey, I feel you on the classes situation. I ended up not returning to my college after two years since I didn’t think I wanted to do the majors anymore and I was going to be a Junior. *sigh* College, ain’t it grand? :)

    Oh my gosh. There’s a place near you where you can actually TAKE books in and get CREDIT?! That’s my dream! That’s what I need! Except I can’t dare part with any of my books. :(

    Great job at walking out book free. Libraries are so great. I used to go to mine all the time, but then I stopped, but I’ve realized how great it would be going back. You get to read books…for free! The only problem is, they have to be returned. ;)

    Haha, I wish I purchased all the books I want to read. Although then I’d never be able to choose what to read next. That’s a great question. Well, in terms of “book hauls” where I’m like “I’m going to buy me some books”, it kind of depends.

    In June I noticed some John Greens books were on sale for around $6 on Amazon, I’d been wanting to read his other books after reading TFiOS, so I picked up two that sounded the most interesting (I’d read samplers of all three from another time). After that I made a list of other books that were around the same price that I’d been wanting to read for a while (i..e. Every Day by David Levithan, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher).

    Then I narrowed down my choices by underlining, looked at the books that I really really wanted to read, purchased those on Amazon…

    Then I was browsing Barnes and Noble’s website and after realizing I get free-shipping no matter what I buy, i decided to buy this book (Anna and The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins) that everyone had been raving over so much lately, especially since it’s the first of a three part series with the newest book coming out in two weeks. After deciding to buy Anna, I bought An Abundance of Katherines by John Green since…Well I already bought two of his books, I might as well buy this one too…

    Yeah, that was my logic. Lol.

    Then in my “second” Barnes and Noble purchase decision, I noticed this book I’d been wanting to read for a couple years now (The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith) was $10 and that was the cheapest I’d be able to get it anywhere, bought that.

    Afterwards I noticed the second book to Anna and The French Kiss (Lola and The Boy Next Door) was around the same price so I decided to buy it as well…

    Then I finally bought This Is What Makes Me Happy by Jennifer E. Smith since that book and her other book mentioned above have similar font styles and she has a new book out that is similar to those two as well…

    That doesn’t make much sense, does it? That’s my book logic.

    Oh, I also made all the Barnes and Noble purchases after thinking about how a few of my Amazon purchases were “sad” books and therefore I needed to balance my “sad” books with “happy books”.

    So that’s how I decided in that case…

    I’m actually have a post coming out next week to explain my Barnes and Noble purchases…

    In terms of random purchases, if it’s a book I’ve been really wanting to read, they’re on my “list” and it’s cheap, like at my library book store I ended up finding The Book Thief for $4, Catcher In The Rye for $1, and Divergent for $4, so I bought those (the last one at a separate time).

    Anyway, I am so so so sorry for the long post. :( I get really carried away sometimes.

    For my next book haul, I have a list, I’m not allowed to buy any books next time that aren’t on the list. You can imagine how long my list is to give me options. :)

    Like

    1. Haha, I like your logic. I used to be much the same– I bought what I wanted when it was a reasonable price and if it wasn’t then I had to really want it (and sometimes bought it anyway), but I’m trying to embrace the idea that what matters is how the book affects me and not how it looks on my shelf. Maybe it’s just from looking at so many books on the library shelves every day. It also helps that anything I want we manage to order so, while it isn’t immediate gratification, it does get purchased eventually and I can still read it for free. :)

      Like

      1. There are so many gorgeously covered books I want partly because they look beautiful and also because I want to read them (Syrena Legacy and Lunar Chronicles come to mind). I also ended up buying two more “expensive” books that I’ve been wanting to read for a while. Library shelves can definitely do that to you, I know Barnes and Noble does it with me. Lol. It’s nice you end up purchasing the books you want eventually.

        Like

  4. I purchase the books I want to read too, my library simply hasn’t got them. And when I really love them, I buy them for my library so that others can share ! (Librarian too, here, I’ve got some budget to do it :)

    Like

Comment

