Memes

Thursday Thoughts: Read-a-thons!

thursthoughts

Thursday Thoughts is hosted by Ashley over at Ok, Let’s Read.

Have you ever participated in a read-a-thon? If so, which one was it and what was your experience? If not, do you want to participate in one? Do you like the idea of read-a-thons? What’s your strategy going into a read-a-thon or a period of time where you just plan to make yourself read more than normal? Are there any tricks you use to encourage yourself during read-a-thons?

I have, indeed participated! Just some months ago I participated in my first read-a-thon (since elementary school days) which was Bout of Books 10! It was a fun experience and I got to meet lots of other bloggers and book lovers and I cannot wait to meet some more duringĀ Bout of Books 11!

I have not previously had a real strategic plan set forth, however, my last read-a-thon was done while I was out recovering from my tonsillectomy so it was pretty much just me hoping I wasn’t too drugged up to read. The goal was simply to read when I was able and felt capable of understanding (as in, not in a drug induced haze). I ended up being out of commission more than expected, though.

This time around, I plan to read for at least two solid hours each day. I usually read for at least an hour before bed at minimum so that will be a nice additional reading time. :) I don’t have any tricks to use– I participate for fun and so there’s no sense in making myself read if I’m stressing myself out or not enjoying it.

I really like the idea of read-a-thons, or really anything-a-thons! I like the idea of participating of something as a community and making new friends at the same time.

How about you guys? Have you participated in a read-a-thon? Are you going to participate in Bout of Books 11?

One thought on “Thursday Thoughts: Read-a-thons!

Comment

