Memes

Top 10 Tuesday: Blogging/Bookish Confessions

top10new

As always, TTT is hosted by the lovelies over at The Broke & The Bookish

TOP 10 BLOGGING/BOOKISH CONFESSIONS

Okay, I’m not entirely sure if we’re doing things only relating to blogging specifically, bookish things or what. I’m a little confused (and also tired) so I will just go with what comes to mind.

  1. I have never read the same book twice.
    This may strike some readers as appalling but I just can’t do it. I am open to the possibility of doing so but I have so many new things I want to read that I have decided I will wait until I absolutely cannot recall what happened in the book. Then, I will re-read it.
  2. It seriously bugs me to stop reading mid-chapter.
    I usually try not to let it happen but sometimes, after a really long day, my eyes just cannot hold themselves open any longer and I won’t make it to the end of the chapter. *sigh*
  3. I queue most of my posts the weekend prior.
    Things get a little hectic with work, school, eight cats and four dogs so I try my best to queue up early so that when a day sneaks up on me I’m not rushed to post something. This week is an exception to this, though, since I was out of town.
  4. My bookshelves have varying states of order.
    The one in my room is arranged somewhat haphazardly based on if I’ve already read it, would I ever consider re-reading it (see #1), did I like it, do I want to pass it on to offspring should I ever have any, etc etc. Things I am ambivalent about get moved to the shelves in the game room where they are arranged alphabetically by author’s last name in case I decide to loan/sell/give anything away and need to find it quickly.
  5. I return a lot of library books unread.
    As you may or may not know I work in a library. Thus, I am stating the obvious when I say I am surrounded by books all day. My will power against them is little to none. I see things I want to read and sometimes (not always) I am consumed with the urge to GET IT NOW. Right now. Even though I know (okay, hope) the patron that checks it out will return it in a timely fashion. So, at times, I have a stack of library books on my desk that I a) have lost interest in, b) never started, c) have been using as a prop for something else, or d) forgot about because a cat or cats have been using them as a bed. I just returned a stack of this nature today.
  6. I’ve only had one late fee at the library!
    I am particularly proud of this one given that I work there and wouldn’t have to pay it anyway. I know some coworkers are terrible about returning things in a timely fashion. *cough* You know who you are! But, I just can’t do it. What if someone is desperate to read what I have? What if they have a hold on it and are bursting with excitement (like I am sometimes)? So, I return them on time or renew them when I’m allowed. I had one fine that occurred during my surgery and I paid my .25 cents!
  7. I hate reading on e-readers.
    I’ve given it my best effort. I really have. I’ve tried a Kindle Keyboard, a Kindle Fire, and an iPad. I just really dislike it. It doesn’t feel right. I end up being so distracted by how it doesn’t feel the same that I lose interest in the book and move on to something else.
  8. I don’t always feel like reading.
    I love books. I love reading but sometimes I just don’t feel like doing it. Even if I want to read the book. Sometimes, I just feel like doing something else.
  9. I avoid books that I really want to read.
    I can’t explain it. I will really, desperately want to read a book. But, I won’t. I will put it off and put it off and put it off…it’s almost like I’m afraid I won’t like it. I am so excited to read it but also really worried that it might let me down in some way and I would be sad. (The Goldfinch and All the Light We Cannot See are currently in this situation right now.)
  10. I am genuinely surprised each time I gain a new follower/subscriber.
    Seriously! I’m always excited someone made it this far into my little corner and actually wants to stay updated.
15 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Blogging/Bookish Confessions

  1. #9 made me laugh because I’m the same way. I’m always terrified that the book is going to let me down and I don’t want to be disappointed or I’m saving the book for exactly the right time which of course will never happen. I can relate to #2 as well. Congrats on only having 1 library fine! I was a horrible library patron until the last year or so.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha you are a much better library employee than I! I check out so many books and movies and am not always great about returning them on time. LOL. So props to you for being an AWESOME patron! ;-)
    Thanks for stoppin’ by! Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m not a big re-reader either. There are just too many new books waiting to be read for me to “waste” time on reading something I’ve already read. I have re-read a couple of favorites lately, but that was only because I hadn’t read them in years and years.

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    Like

    1. I’ve thought about re-reading some things but my excitement for new books always wins out! I can’t remember what I had for dinner two nights ago but I can remember the books I had to read for my high school literature class! I don’t understand it. Haha

      Like

  4. What fun bookish confessions! I still love print books so much more than ereaders but I’ve grown to like my Kindle. I’ll still usually take a print book first but with everything from Netgalley and Edelweiss, there are a ton of great books in digital form waiting for me too!

    Like

Comment

