Memes

The Sunday Post: June 22nd-28th, 2014

 

SundayPost_BSThe Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

HELLO!

This week has been awfully busy school-wise! I didn’t check our assignments until Wednesday assuming they would be similar to previous assignments so far this summer (two chapters, exercises, quizzes for mythology and one for literature). Imagine my surprise when it had been bumped up to five chapters, the usual exercises and quizzes plus a test for mythology. Oops. My bad…

IMG_20140625_120120Earlier this week I completed my last day of one of my jobs after two and a half years. The commute was costing more than what I was making and so I had to make a choice. I’m sad to go because I truly love all my coworkers there but I am vowing that we will hang out soon. They threw me a really nice going away party with some amazing food and a card that made me sniffle a bit.

IMG_20140625_165625I have not finished a single book so far this month. Can you believe that? I’m disappointed in myself but I have been doing some other things I wanted to do like garden (see photo!) and hang out with friends and family so I won’t be upset with myself for long. We had a 2nd & Charles open up in my city and I’m am THRILLED to have them here! If you don’t know what they are please check out their website. It’s awesome. Geek heaven, really.

POSTS FROM THIS WEEK

BOOK (& STUFF) HAUL

IMG_20140626_230624Like I said, 2nd & Charles opened and I also had a coupon for B&N so I helped myself to a few things. Oh, and a library book for our new “Who Dunit” mystery bookclub at the library!

  • Ten Year Nap by Meg Wolitzer
  • The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  • This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper
  • The Wicked Girls by Alex Marwood (Library)
  • The Gospel of Winter by Brendan Kiely (YAY!)
  • The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

 

 

IMG_20140626_221316I also picked up some new records this week which makes me SO insanely happy! The only other places we have around town that sells music of any sort are Best Buy and Hot Topic. Not always items to suit my taste. But, I found lots of good things I wanted at the new used book store! Woo!

I picked up Closer by Tegan and Sara, Ceremonials by Florence + the Machine, Bad Blood by Bastille, and My Head is an Animal by Of Monsters and Men! I has a happy. :D

 

(STILL) CURRENTLY READING

Yes, I am still currently reading The Hurricane Girls  Dorothea Benton Frank! It’s really good so far and I’m excited to see how it turns out. I’ve just been really bogged down with school work and real life stuff that my reading for fun time has really been pushed to the very back burner. For shame. Oh, well.

I am crossing my fingers that I can finish sometime before the middle of next week, however, midterms are also next week so we will see how that goes…

If, for some reason, I do not finish this book by the end of the next week feel free to take away my book blogger status. -___-

IN OTHER NEWS…

  • The very talented, very sweet Anthony Breznican, author of Brutal Youth, has agreed to let me interview him for the blog! Now, I just need Barnes & Noble to hurry up and send me my book so that I can, ya know, actually read the damn thing. I cannot wait! Give it to me now! Okay, okay, I won’t throw a tantrum. I’m just excited, that’s all.
  • I will be heading out of town for the 4th of July to see my brother and my BFF! YAY! Vacation!
  • BreAnn (aka LondiniumGirl, our regular guest blogger) and I have decided we would like to move to Europe. STAT. Ireland, perhaps. (Suggestions, tips, recommendations are all very welcome!)

How was your week? Did you more than I did? (Ha!) What are your plans for the upcoming holiday? Also, do you like the new Sunday Post header? :)

13 thoughts on “The Sunday Post: June 22nd-28th, 2014

  1. I have been a little behind on reading books this month myself. How fun that you picked up some records. I went to the new library in my town today and they have a record player there for people to use. I thought that was just amazing!!! I really don’t have plans for the upcoming holiday. I was supposed to be visiting my parents and then I got sick and had to cancel my trip. It was a bummer but there will still be fireworks in my town and I love them!!

    Like

    1. Oh, that sounds like a neat idea as something for the library! Unfortunately, I don’t think that would go over well in mine. We tend to bring in people that don’t know how the library works. (“Do you have a list of like, all the like, books you have?” “Yes, ma’am, it’s called a card catalogue. It’s digital now, works a lot like Google but for this library.”) Not to mention all the shushing I do already! I can just imagine what could ensue with a record player! lol

      Glad you still get to see the fireworks and I hope you feel better! :)

      Like

    1. I can’t wait to read both! I’ve read mixed reviews about The Murder Complex but I”m going to give it a shot. Any books I don’t like or want to keep I can always catalogue at my library!

      And I definitely cannot see the movie before reading the book! My brain tries to match up the sequence of things and it throws me off so much that I can’t concentrate!

      Like

  2. I can fully understand what you are saying… reading a book, actually liking it, but still not getting the time to actually sit down and continue reading it. I love those fancy cup cakes. It must have been a hard decision to quit the job, but at the end of the day, what can you do – if it costs more than you get out of it, even though you liked the people, our time is one of the most valuable things in life.
    Peggy @ The Pegster Reads

    Like

  3. It’s fine to not get much reading done if you have other things in life that need attention. I think we put too much pressure on ourselves because we blog. You will be probably be tempted by that nice stack of books you have there: I read and enjoyed The Help (and the movie) and The Wicked Girls.
    Hey, if you move to Ireland, can I tag along, LOL? My family has Irish descendants and that is on our bucket list, to visit there. Have a good week.

    Like

Comment

