Memes

Top 10 Tuesday: Cover Trends I Like/Dislike

Top10TuesPeach

Ah, the cover of the book! Sometimes, what makes or breaks our decision to read it (oh, don’t try to pretend it doesn’t influence you). I will be honest in saying I judge a book by it’s cover quite a lot. A really bad cover may be enough to prevent me from even looking at the synopsis but I’m getting better about it. I likely can’t list ten trends I like or dislike so I will do a little of both and do as many as I can think of along with some examples.

TRENDS I LIKE

      1. Large, clean fonts over an understated photo
      2. Hand-drawn doodles/fonts
      3. A photo that gives insight to the story
      4. Bright, vibrant colors
      5. Stunning photography
      6. Simple but catchy

TRENDS I DISLIKE

      1. Primarily black covers
      2. Covers that look cartoon-y
      3. Covers that already look like they belong in the 80’s

 

Surprise! I almost got to ten. How about you? What do you like/dislike in a cover?

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Cover Trends I Like/Dislike

  1. Ooh, I don’t know if I actually like photographic covers. I think I usually prefer cartoonish ones instead. >.< I'm not sure why though. Maybe I just attach photographic covers to contemporary stories? I just assume I won't like them? And cartoonish ones look like they'll be fun? Not sure! But I guess they make both kinds of covers so we both can be happy ;)

    Like

Comment

