Memes

Life of a Blogger: School

LoaB

Life of a Blogger is a weekly feature hosted by Novel Heartbeat to share and get to know bloggers and what they do when they’re not blogging!

Visit her for more details.

 

THIS WEEK’S TOPIC:
SCHOOL

I am currently a sophomore–alllllmost a junior in college at the ripe old age of thirty-one. I am currently majoring in English Literature and plan to pursue my Master’s of Library and Information Science after that (I think). I’m not entirely certain on my future these days and I’m learning to be okay with that.

Previously, I was majoring in psychology and then briefly, double majoring in psychology and biology (plus working two jobs, taking care of eight cats…) My brain and body couldn’t handle everything I was putting it through. So, I took a semester off. It cost me a fortune since I dropped my classes too late but it was worth it. I needed that mental break and it gave me time to think. What I learned was that I had been heading down the science path for the wrong reasons–don’t get me wrong, I’m interested. I just don’t know that it is what I want to do for the rest of my life.

It wasn’t until I got the job at the library that I realized how much being around books (and other bookish individuals) made me happy. I mean, when I’m at work, I am really happy. I don’t have to fake it like I have at other jobs. The smile on my face is genuine and I find it to be really easy since I already liked books and felt pretty comfortable talking about them. There’s just a wonderful little of current of excitement and energy that’s always running through me while I’m at the library and after some deliberation, I decided that why not? It makes me happy.

I would like to write some on the side–freelance articles or maybe even a research paper or two just for fun once I’m finished with my degree and I have time. Or maybe I will finally write that novel, who knows.

 

How about you all? Are you currently in school of any sort?

Signature

2 thoughts on “Life of a Blogger: School

  1. How interesting! I got my bachelor’s in Computer Science with minors in math and accounting at 22. I enjoyed the subjects and could get a job in them but it wasn’t something I was absolutely passionate about. Over the years I thought about going back for a master’s in elementary education but decided against it! I’ve also thought about going back and getting a degree in history just because that is something I’m passionate about. I love the idea of Library & Information Science and am curious about what the classes would entail.

    Like

    1. I’ve looked into some different programs here and there and the classes are very varied! They cover just about everything! From systems analysis, research methods, collection development and management, to youth programming, book conservation and philanthropy!

      I think that’s what I like about the library–it’s more than just books. Right now I help with the social media committee, help with youth and children’s programs, teach adult classes now and then, etc etc. There’s always something new to learn and do!

      Like

Comment

