Discussion

Books as a Mirror for Attitudes toward Mental Health

Reblogging because of the wonderful content!

If you haven’t checked out The Barefoot Med Student’s blog, you really should!

Barefoot Whispers

For Mental Health Awareness Month I wanted to make a list of books about mental health. I was done with a rough draft when I realised I didn’t like it: I hadn’t read that many YA about mental health and some pretty voracious readers are sure to post some fantastic lists.

What I do want to talk about is how YA portrays mental health issues, even when it isn’t necessarily focused on mental health.

mental health books

The first time I thought about this was when I read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. Now, despite some problems, I liked that book. It gave me the creeps in a delicious way. Even though it is a paranormal story, there is a lot of alluding to mental health issues. Apart from the fact that Mara obviously suffers from some pretty serious PTSD, she is also being worked up for a possible diagnosis…

View original post 419 more words

Comment

