Memes

Thursday Thoughts: Book Hype

thursthoughtsThursday Thoughts is an original, weekly meme created on Ok, Let’s Read. The idea for this feature was brought about by several conversations I’ve had with bookish friends in my daily life. I noticed that not everyone has the same mindset about certain aspects of reading, books, and everything bookish and wanted to not only share my own opinions on things, but hear other people’s feelings on topics that we might not feel the same way about.

 

Book Hype

If a book is over-hyped does it make you want to read it more, less, or does it not effect you whatsoever? Do you think book-hype helps or hurts new releases? Do you think book-hype can sometimes skew or taint people’s opinions on a book? What was the most recent over-hyped up book you can recall?

Hmmm….

I would have to say yes…and no. I think it really depends on the book itself and my interest level in it. For instance, if I’m mildly interested I suppose a huge amount of hype could entice me to read the book. However, if I’m not interested at all (*cough* Twilight), then no amount of hype can change my mind and get me into it. I will admit that I had no interest in reading Fifty Shades of Grey, either but I caved honestly because a) it is now a pop culture icon and b) I work at a library an I’m expected to know All The Book Things. Granted, that’s a day or two of my life I will never get back but now I can successfully defend my statements about not liking it.

As far as changing people’s opinions, I suppose it’s possible depending on the mind of the individual. If they are easily influenced by others then yes, I imagine that could influence their thoughts on it. All depends on the psychology makeup of the individual.

How about you guys? Have you ever been swayed into reading a book based on the hype?

Comment

