Memes

Thursday Thoughts: Book Buying Bans

thursthoughts

Thursday Thoughts is an original, weekly meme created on Ok, Let’s Read. The idea for this feature was brought about by several conversations I’ve had with bookish friends in my daily life. I noticed that not everyone has the same mindset about certain aspects of reading, books, and everything bookish and wanted to not only share my own opinions on things, but hear other people’s feelings on topics that we might not feel the same way about.

Have you ever put yourself on a book buying ban? Do you believe that book buying bans actually can make a difference? At what point do you decide that it’s really time to put yourself on a book buying ban?

 

Oh, yes. Yes, I have. Shortly after I discovered Abe Books and Thrift Books I went on a book buying spree. I mean, an absolute spree! I was getting a book or two in the mail daily for about two months straight. Granted, these were all used books and didn’t cost me very much, over time it did begin to add up and I had to will myself to walk away from the websites at some points.

I didn’t really think too much of it until I started receiving books in the mail that either I didn’t remember ordering or were in much worse condition than I would normally buy. At that point, I knew I had to do something. My excitement had reached a level where I wasn’t paying close attention to what I was purchasing and I had ended up with books I was only mildly interested in and a few that were already damaged beyond my personal preference for “used” condition books.

So, what I started doing was making myself a wishlist of sorts on Goodreads. Instead of adding an item to my cart immediately after reading the summary offered, I would add it to my Goodreads TBR list. Then, after a week or so of finding SO many books I wanted to read, I would go back through the TBR list and if I couldn’t remember what it was about by glancing at the cover/title/author then I removed it and didn’t buy it. If I could remember and still had an interest in it then I would add it to my wishlist on the site.

It took me a little while for the excitement of these sites to die down and me to regain control of my wallet but it was worth it as my bookshelves are already overflowing. Plus, I like seeing money in my savings account just sitting there. :)

Comment

