Memes

Top 10 Tuesday: Books About Friendship

 

Top10TuesPeach

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Books About Friendship

Obviously, I think I need to beef up my adult and/or YA selections in where friendship is concerned given the age level of most of the books I’ve chosen. They are in no particular order–simply how I thought of them. (I apologize for no book covers. WordPress and I were having a heated disagreement about their arrangement and I relented.)

  1. Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flag
    This book comes to mind first and foremost because what says true friendship like a murder between friends?
  2. Harry Potter (series) by J.K. Rowling
    No list about friendship could be considered complete without the Terrific, Troublesome Trio!
  3. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
    This book made me thankful for the few and faithful friends I do have instead of wishing for more.
  4. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
    Anne knows all about kindred spirits and while reading this book as a child it was the first time I felt I had found one myself.
  5. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
    I cannot even think about this book (or the movie) without tearing up a little bit. Friendship comes in all forms.
  6. The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein
    Another all-time-favorite that speaks on many more levels than I could understand as a child.
  7. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
    The overall friendship theme and the necessity of human companionship are far reaching in this children’s novel.
  8. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
    A more recent read of mine and an interesting account of how friends can be present with or without reciprocation.
  9. The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton
    Another classic revolving around the idea that friendship is an unbreakable bond.
  10. The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams
    One of my absolute most favorite books that teaches us friends don’t always have to be people. ;)
16 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Books About Friendship

Comment

