Reviews

REVIEW: Girls in White Dresses by Jennifer Close

TITLE: Girls in White Dresses

AUTHOR: Jennifer Close

PUBLISHER: Vintage

RELEASE DATE: May 1, 2012 (Reprint Edition)

ISBN: 978-0307743695

TYPE: Paperback; 304 pages

GENRE: Chick lit.

SOURCE: Purchased

RATING: 3 out of 5

 

SYNOPSIS:

Isabella, Mary, and Lauren feel like everyone they know is getting married. On Sunday after Sunday, at bridal shower after bridal shower, they coo over toasters, collect ribbons and wrapping paper, eat minuscule sandwiches and doll-sized cakes. They wear pastel dresses and drink champagne by the case, but amid the celebration these women have their own lives to contend with: Isabella is working at a mailing-list company, dizzy with the mixed signals of a boss who claims she’s on a diet but has Isabella file all morning if she forgets to bring her a chocolate muffin. Mary thinks she might cry with happiness when she finally meets a nice guy who loves his mother, only to realize he’ll never love Mary quite as much. And Lauren, a waitress at a Midtown bar, swears up and down she won’t fall for the sleazy bartender—a promise that his dirty blond curls and perfect vodka sodas make hard to keep. 

SHOULD HAVE BEEN CALLED: How Not to Live During Your Mid-Twenties

MY THOUGHTS:

Well, where to begin? This book felt like it was all over the place. There were often so many characters that I had to mentally pause and remember who was friends with whom–mostly because they weren’t all that memorable on their own. The writing style of this book is choppy (and yes, I know it’s intended to portray different viewpoints of different people), however, some parts are really very short while others are a decent length. It left me feeling like I was reading the author’s notes for the book and not the actual published copy itself. So far in my life I have not regretted a book purchase but I did find myself wishing I had found this one used or deeply discounted instead of paying full price for it. Perhaps I should have read the library copy, I don’t know.

My overall impression is that the characters are whiny and overly obsessed with the idea of “meeting someone”–which I get to a certain extent. But it’s like they’ve forgotten that they control their lives and can make something better out of it if they only chose to do something about it. Oh, and something else–I’ve never seen so much WINE being consumed by a group of women. Good grief. Nearly every page it seemed that someone was buying, opening, or finishing a bottle (and sometimes all three on one page). Maybe I just live my life differently because I do not remember being so helpless and drunk in my late twenties. It was relatable, though, in parts when describing how a character was feeling about something. But as soon as I was like, “Yeah, yeah, I’ve totally felt that way,” we’ve started a new little section about a different character (and more wine).

This book was a pretty easy read but towards the end I felt like I was forcing myself through it a bit. It wasn’t terrible but it’s not making any of my favorites lists which is really disappointing and makes me hesitant to read “The Smart One” by the same author.

 

Comment

